Key Points
- A 23-year-old man from Kinmel Bay is facing an order to pay £777 for possession of class A and class B drugs.
- Jack Doig of Parc Gwellyn pled guilty to two counts of possession of class A drugs.
- Doig also pled guilty to a charge of possession of a class B drug.
- The charges against Doig were heard at Liverpool and Knowsley Magistrates’ Court on September 29, 2026.
- The 23-year-old was arrested in Liverpool with quantities of 2CB, MDMA and ketamine.
- The drugs were recovered on April 13.
- The court fined Doig £692.
- Doig is also ordered to pay £85 in costs to the Crown Prosecution Service.
- In all, Doig was ordered to pay £777.
- The court ordered the destruction of the drugs.
Wales (Wales Times) October 5, 2026 – The Kinmel Bay man drug possession case involving Jack Doig was dealt with at Liverpool and Knowsley Magistrates’ Court on September 29, 2026, after he admitted possessing 2CB, MDMA and ketamine in Liverpool.
- Key Points
- What happened in the Kinmel Bay drug possession case?
- Which drugs were involved?
- What penalty did Jack Doig receive?
- What happened to the seized drugs?
- What did the court hear?
- Where and when was the case heard?
- How much must the Kinmel Bay man pay?
- What does the case show about the charges?
- What information has been attributed to the original report?
- Background to the development
- How could this development affect local audiences?
Doig, aged 23 and from Parc Gwellyn, Kinmel Bay, pleaded guilty to three drug-possession charges. The charges involved two class A drugs and one class B drug.
The court ordered him to pay a total of £777. This included a £692 fine and £85 in costs payable to the Crown Prosecution Service.
The drugs seized from Doig were also ordered to be forfeited and destroyed.
What happened in the Kinmel Bay drug possession case?
According to the report published by the Rhyl Journal, Doig was found in Liverpool on Sunday, April 13, in possession of quantities of 2CB, MDMA and ketamine.
The report identifies Doig as a resident of Parc Gwellyn in Kinmel Bay. It states that he later pleaded guilty to two counts of possessing class A drugs and one charge of possessing a class B drug.
The proceedings took place at Liverpool and Knowsley Magistrates’ Court on Tuesday, September 29, 2026.
The available report does not provide further details about the circumstances of the discovery, including the exact location in Liverpool, the quantities of each substance or the circumstances that led to police finding Doig.
Which drugs were involved?
The substances named in the report were 2CB, MDMA and ketamine.
The charges included two counts of class A drug possession and one class B drug-possession charge. The report does not specify which of the three substances related to each individual count.
2CB and MDMA are identified in the case report as the class A substances involved. Ketamine was the substance referred to in connection with the class B charge.
The report does not state that Doig was accused of supplying the drugs. The proceedings described in the published account concern possession charges.
What penalty did Jack Doig receive?
Doig was fined £692 by the magistrates’ court.
In addition to the fine, he was ordered to pay £85 in costs to the Crown Prosecution Service. These amounts bring the total financial payment to £777.
The report does not state whether any separate surcharge or other financial order was imposed. It also does not provide details about Doig’s financial circumstances or the deadline for payment.
The court’s order means that the case resulted in a financial penalty rather than the report describing a custodial sentence.
What happened to the seized drugs?
The drugs seized from Doig were ordered to be forfeited and destroyed.
This means the substances were not to be returned and were instead subject to disposal following the court’s order. The published report does not provide further information about the process used to destroy the drugs or the timing of that disposal.
What did the court hear?
The published report confirms that Doig entered guilty pleas to the three possession charges.
However, it does not include a detailed summary of submissions made by the prosecution or defence. It also does not set out the magistrates’ reasons for the level of fine.
No statement from Doig, his legal representative, the Crown Prosecution Service or police is included in the available report. As a result, the account is limited to the charges, the guilty pleas, the substances named, the financial penalty and the forfeiture order.
Where and when was the case heard?
The case was heard at Liverpool and Knowsley Magistrates’ Court on Tuesday, September 29, 2026.
The incident involving the drugs took place in Liverpool on Sunday, April 13, according to the report. Doig’s address was given as Parc Gwellyn, Kinmel Bay.
The published account does not state whether the case was heard on the date of the first court appearance or whether there had been earlier hearings.
How much must the Kinmel Bay man pay?
The total payment ordered by the court is £777.
The amount is made up of:
- £692 for the fine.
- £85 in costs to the Crown Prosecution Service.
The Rhyl Journal report describes the total as more than £700. No additional financial penalty is recorded in the available information.
What does the case show about the charges?
The case involved possession rather than a reported allegation of drug supply.
Doig admitted two class A drug-possession offences and one class B drug-possession offence. The substances named were 2CB, MDMA and ketamine.
The report does not indicate that the court found him guilty of producing, supplying or intending to supply drugs. It also does not mention allegations involving violence, driving, weapons or any other offence.
The court’s order for the drugs to be forfeited and destroyed addressed the substances seized in connection with the case.
What information has been attributed to the original report?
The details in this article are based on the report published by the Rhyl Journal under the headline “Kinmel Bay man to pay more than £700 after drug possession”.
The available article text does not identify an individual journalist by name. Therefore, no author attribution has been added beyond the publication title. The report states that Jack Doig, 23, of Parc Gwellyn, pleaded guilty at Liverpool and Knowsley Magistrates’ Court on Tuesday, September 29, to two counts of class A drug possession and one class B drug-possession charge.
It also reports that he was found in Liverpool with 2CB, MDMA and ketamine on Sunday, April 13. The reported penalty was a £692 fine, £85 in Crown Prosecution Service costs and a total payment of £777. The drugs were ordered to be forfeited and destroyed.
Background to the development
Drug possession cases are dealt with according to the classification of the substance, the circumstances of the offence and the information presented to the court. In this case, the charges covered both class A and class B drug possession.
The report does not provide a detailed account of the sentencing considerations. It therefore cannot establish why the court selected a fine of £692, or whether the amount reflected factors such as the quantity involved, previous convictions, personal circumstances or an early guilty plea.
The case is also separate from allegations of drug supply. Based on the available report, Doig admitted possession offences only. The court additionally ordered the seized substances to be forfeited and destroyed.
How could this development affect local audiences?
For residents in Kinmel Bay and the surrounding area, the case provides a public record of a local man receiving a court fine after admitting possession of 2CB, MDMA and ketamine in Liverpool.
The immediate outcome reported is financial: Doig was ordered to pay £777, comprising the fine and prosecution costs. The drugs connected with the case were also ordered to be destroyed.
The report does not provide evidence of a wider public-safety incident in Kinmel Bay, nor does it link the case to local drug activity beyond Doig’s address. Readers should therefore distinguish the individual court outcome from broader claims about the area.
For audiences following local court reporting, the case also illustrates the importance of checking the precise charges and court orders. The published information concerns possession, includes both class A and class B offences, and records forfeiture and destruction of the seized drugs.
